The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
Reference, Islam, Islamic Studies
EI2 (1955-2005) and EI3 (2007-)
Quarterly
Full textEncyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) is a unique reference tool, and an authoritative source ?of information about the world of Islam. it consists of both the second edition (?EI2?) and the third edition (?EI3?). The Second Edition sets out the present state of Brill?s knowledge of the Islamic World. The Third Edition is an entirely new work in progress (publication started in 2007), it contains new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
EI Online includes over 10,000 entries from hundreds of scholars, with full color illustrations (sizeable), an easy referencing at end of each article. The search engine for EI Online automatically searches both editions and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.
Reference, Islam 10th to 20th centuries CE Manuscripts+Maps+TextsHarvard’s Islamic Heritage Project (IHP) is a digital collection that includes over 280 manuscripts, more than 50 maps, and more than 275 printed texts from Harvard?s renowned library and museum collections. Totaling over 156,000 pages, IHP materials date from the 10th to the 20th centuries CE, and represent many regions, including Saudi Arabia, North Africa, Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Palestine, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, and South, Southeast, and Central Asia. Languages covered are primarily Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish; also Urdu, Chagatai, Malay, Gujarati, Indic languages, and several Western languages. Subjects include religious texts and commentaries; Sufism; history, geography, law, and the sciences (astronomy, astrology, mathematics, medicine); poetry and literature; rhetoric, logic, and philosophy; calligraphy, dictionaries and grammar, as well as biographies and autobiographical works. Additional materials may be added to the IHP over time.