The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to a collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. It is a combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in several disciplines ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
McGraw-Hill’s AccessMedicine.com is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, and researchers with instant answers to clinical questions from trusted sources. To keep pace with the changing practice of medicine, AccessMedicine delivers the latest medical advances and knowledge from recognized physicians delivered in a digital aggregation with online desktop, PDA, iPod, and MP3 compatible device solutions. Updated daily by world-renowned physicians and expanded continuously, AccessMedicine is designed for direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
NOTE: You need to create an individual account via MyAccess, and you must sign in every 90 days through the libraries in order to keep your account active. This individual account is required to have access to AccessMedicine off-campus.
N.B. “USERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO CONFIRM THE INFORMATION CONTAINED ON ANY OF THE ACCESSMEDICINE SITES, WlTH OTHER SOURCES. FOR EXAMPLE, AND IN PARTICULAR, USERS ARE ADVISED TO CHECK THE PRODUCT INFORMATION SHEET INCLUDED IN THE PACKAGE OF EACH DRUG THEY PLAN TO ADMINISTER TO BE CERTAIN THAT THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN ANY OF THE ACCESSMEDICINE SITES IS ACCURATE AND THAT CHANGES HAVE NOT BEEN MADE IN THE RECOMMENDED DOSE OR IN THE CONTRAINDICATIONS FOR ADMINISTRATION”.
AccessPharmacyTM from McGraw-Hill is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, search across leading pharmacy online references and view optimized content on a mobile device.
It is the full-text repository of papers published by ACM and by other publishers that have co-publishing or co-marketing agreements with ACM. It contains citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. LAU Libraries subscribe to 40 journals from ACS Publications (including 5 copublished with other scientific societies).
N.B. Chemical & Engineering News, Reagent Chemicals, Division Proceedings or C&EN Online are not yet part of our subscription.
The Online MCP contains all of the ACI documents you need to answer your questions about code requirements, specifications, tolerances, concrete proportions, construction methods, evaluations of test results, materials and properties construction practices, inspection, and pavements use of concrete buildings, bridges and special structures precast concrete, masonry, etc. The Online MCP includes over 4,600 pages and 180 of the most used documents on concrete technology.
This database provides access to the American Economic Association online journals namely:
American Economic Review (AER) since March 1999
Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) since December 1994
Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP) since Fall 1987 (1, 2)
American Economic Journal: Applied Economics (AEJ: Applied) since January 2009
American Economic Journal: Economic Policy (AEJ: Policy) since February 2009
American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics (AEJ: Macro) since January 2009
American Economic Journal: Microeconomics (AEJ: Micro) since February 2009
The American Journal of Nursing (AJN) is the oldest and largest circulating, broad-based nursing journal in the world. AJN is published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, part of Wolters Kluwer Health. It promotes excellence in nursing and health care through the dissemination of evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information and original research, discussion of relevant and controversial professional issues, adherence to standards of journalistic integrity and excellence, and promotion of nursing perspectives to the health care community and the public.
The American Society of Microbiology (ASM) journals provide access to up-to-date and authoritative publications in the field of basic and clinical microbiology.
This database provides access to the full text of the Lebanese daily newspaper An-Nahar (TIF format).
Note: Use Internet Explorer to access the database.
To browse this database with Internet Explorer (Windows), please make the following adjustments: Under Tools, press Internet Options, select the Security tab, select Local Intranet, press Custom Level, enable Download Unsigned ActiveX Control, press OK twice.
Access provided on campus only.
Founded in 1932, Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 32 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI).
With the Reviews in Advance, articles will begin to appear up to 7 months prior to the publication date of the print volume.
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections ). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides ).
N.B. "Before entering the ARTstor Digital Library, you will need to set your browser’s pop-up blocker to accept pop-up windows from www.artstor.org. If you choose not to do so, you will not be able to fully open the images".
ArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
This database contains the full text of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. ASME International conducts one of the world’s largest technical publishing operations, holds some 30 technical conferences and 200 professional development courses each year, and sets many industrial and manufacturing standards.
BASE is a multi-disciplinary search engine for academically relevant OAI-Sources worldwide, which was created and developed by Bielefeld University Library. BASE makes it possible to search for more than 50,000,000 documents across 2,700 repository servers worldwide and is one of the biggest search engine for academic OA documents and publications.
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to the full text of over 100 peer-reviewed biomedical journals.
bioRxiv: The Preprint Server for Biology. bioRxiv (pronounced “bio-archive”) is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online.
Business Source Ultimate offers peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) is the e-publishing service for over 250 journals published by Cambridge University Press (CUP). In addition to subscribing to the Core Collection package, LAU Libraries purchased the Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) Archives which includes more than 60 titles (from issue 1). For more information about the STM Archives click here . Users are encouraged to register for an account in order to take advantage of all CUP services, such as: Content alerts (to keep up-to-date with the latest research in your field); Access free online sample material for almost all Cambridge journals, and more.
This database includes articles/theses available in any of the Canadian Association of Research Libraries institutional repositories.
The Center is a consumer watchdog in America’s healthcare system. CDER’s best-known job is to evaluate new drugs before they can be sold. The Center’s review of new drug applications not only prevents quackery, but it provides doctors and patients with the information they need to use medicines wisely. The Center makes sure that safe and effective drugs are available to improve the health of consumers. CDER ensures that prescription and over-the-counter drugs, both brand name and generic, work correctly and that the health benefits outweigh known risks.
ChemSpider (from the Royal Society of Chemistry) is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 32 million structures, properties, and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from ~500 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search.
ChemSpider builds on the collected sources by adding additional properties, related information, and links back to original data sources. ChemSpider offers text and structure searching to find compounds of interest and provides unique services to improve this data by curation and annotation, and to integrate it with users’ applications.
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and Choice Reviews Online for collection development and scholarly research. Choice reaches almost every undergraduate college and university library in the United States. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews.
A major source of information for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Most comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Elsevier’s ClinicalKey is a “clinical insight engine” that provides access to Elsevier’s current medical and surgical content It is built from the ground up on Smart Content tagged from Elsevier’s proprietary EMMeT taxonomy. It allows you to share the clinically relevant answers you find. ClinicalKey provides access to 800+ books in every medical discipline; 500+ top journals; 9,000+ videos of surgical procedures and other techniques.
You need to create your personal account within LAU network, by clicking on “Register” and following the registration steps.
For off-campus access use your personal account by clicking on: https://www.clinicalkey.com
ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. It is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Cogprints is an electronic archive for self-archived papers in any area of Psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, and many other areas of computer science.
This database serves as a unique guide to the ways in which names offer insight into the political, cultural, religious, and aesthetic meanings that people ascribe to particular environments, and in which the values of places change. The dynamism of the world system since World War II is graphically illustrated by changed names for both renewed and pre-existing places.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 420 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 301 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as “core”). In addition, CMMC features over 3,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of over 250 reference books. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology, languages, technology, business, economics & finance, biography, literature and many more. Search each title individually or search across the entire collection. Credo also contains a helpful crossword solver, and useful conversion calculators. Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more.
CUFTS is an open source journal finder also called link resolver. It includes a knowledge base of over 280 electronic resources with 289,000 journal title records.
With a history going back over 260 years, De Gruyter is one of the longest established publishers in Germany. De Gruyter has a diverse and high-quality journal program. LAU Libraries subscribe to the following titles:
International Review of applied Linguistics in Language Teaching
Review of Middle East Economics and Finance
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 1,135 journals in the directory. Currently 296 journals are searchable at article level. To date 50,478 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
Doody’s Review Service (formerly Doody’s Electronic Journal) is a collection development tool for the health sciences. Download Product Sheet (PDF)
Access via username and password. Please contact the Information & Education Services Librarian ext 2273 (Byblos) and the Reference Librarian ext 1260 (Beirut).
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
This package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
EBook Central provides access to a wide-variety of disciplines from a wide variety of publishers.
The eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) database is a database that contains all of the full text eBooks that our institution purchases from EBSCO, including eBooks from our eBook Subscription Collections, as well as single eBook titles.
EconLit™ with Full Text contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for more than 500 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo (American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives). EconLit, the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. It provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Edinburgh University Press publishes over 35 journals across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. LAU Libraries subscribe to 4 titles mainly in Literature:
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.
A powerful business and management research tool that provides instant access to over 40,000 full text articles from over one hundred Emerald titles going back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
A reference site for students, educators, and parents which includes the complete encyclopædia, with more than 72,000 articles, updated and revised by professional editors and contributors; over 10,000 illustrations, photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 75,000 definitions with pronunciation guides and word histories from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Plus, the Encyclopædia Britannica Intermediate which offers over 38,000 articles and 4,000 images, illustrations, maps and flags. This site can also be used to search an internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
This database is an expanded and updated version of the eight-volume Encyclopedia of Food Science, Food Technology and Nutrition (1993). Available via the Science Direct platform, the encyclopedia covers the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition.
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) is a unique reference tool, and an authoritative source ?of information about the world of Islam. it consists of both the second edition (?EI2?) and the third edition (?EI3?). The Second Edition sets out the present state of Brill?s knowledge of the Islamic World. The Third Edition is an entirely new work in progress (publication started in 2007), it contains new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
EI Online includes over 10,000 entries from hundreds of scholars, with full color illustrations (sizeable), an easy referencing at end of each article. The search engine for EI Online automatically searches both editions and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.
Encyclopedia of Journalism, published by Sage Publications, Inc., is composed of six-volumes that cover all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. Available through Sage Reference Online Platform.
The Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance is a major reference work designed to provide a comprehensive coverage of essential topics related to the quantitative modeling of financial markets, with authoritative contributions from leading academics and professionals.
Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 is a database based on the authoritative bibliography “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.” This new database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. The bibliographic database, contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Evidence Analysis Library (EAL) is a synthesis of the best, most relevant nutritional research on important dietetic practice questions housed within an accessible, online, user-friendly website. An objective and transparent methodology is used to assess food and nutrition-related science. The EAL is a series of systematic reviews developed by Academy members for Academy members based on a predefined approach and criteria.
EvidenceUpdates provides a cumulative, searchable database of recent journal article citations, with links to their abstracts, and ratings of their relevance and importance by practicing physicians. To search this database, you must register.
Physicians who are in general practice or primary care, internal medicine or its sub-specialties are invited to register their interests so that they can receive email alerts and searching access for literature that is matched to their personal clinical interests.
The Forbes Archive contains indexing, abstracting, full text for the complete archive of Forbes, beginning with its first issue in 1917 and ending in December 2000. Forbes is an American business magazine featuring articles on finance, industry, investing and marketing topics. Forbes also reports on related subjects such as technology, communication, and marketing topics.
This site provides free access to selected medical journals published in English and other languages such as French, German, and Spanish. Browsable by subject, alphabetically and by language.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a multidisciplinary collection of electronic encyclopedias and specialized reference works. The collection can be browsed by title or searched by author, title, keyword, image caption, publisher, and full-text.The eBooks to which LAU Libraries subscribe are displayed by subject on the GVRL home page.
Currently the Libraries provide access to the following titles:
Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary, edition 46th 2012 onwards
Contemporary authors. - vol 310 onwards
Contemporary authors, New Revision Series. vol 220 onwards
Contemporary musicians. - vol 71 onwards
Contemporary theatre, film and television. - vol 112 onwards
Countries of the world and their leaders yearbook 2013 ed onwards
Environmental encyclopedia. - 5th ed onwards
The weather almanac. -12th ed onwards
Previous volumes also available during subscription period.
Access to this database requires:
One of the most comprehensive databases of U.S., Canadian, and U.K. books, audio, and video. Over 5 million titles including more than 165,000 worldwide publishers and distributors listings, along with direct links to their websites and e-mails.
Global Development Finance (GDF) is a statistical database, produced by the World Bank Group. GDF Online offers external debt and financial flow data for the 135 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank’s Debtor Reporting System. The timeseries for 216 indicators run from 1970 to 2006, with contractual obligations data until 2015. The indicators include external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructurings, and scheduled debt service projections.
The GDF Online subscription also includes topical country data and regional aggregates showing time series in table and chart form. The topics are: external debt, aggregate net resource flows (long term), net flows and transfers on debt, net financial flows from multilateral institutions, and international bond issues (new and outstanding).
The Global Library of Women’s Medicine, is a unique web library incorporating a vast range of detailed clinical information across the whole field of women’s medicine. It consists of 442 main chapters and 53 supplementary chapters, supported by over 40,000 references, which will be kept permanently up-to-date. The chapters have been written by more than 650 specialists and will reflect some of the very best worldwide opinion. In addition, there are innovative features freely available to registered users, that are aimed at medical professionals, including surgical videos, specialist colour atlases of visual medicine, comprehensive guidance to laboratory tests and the significance of their results,- and even an option to provide doctors with selected patient information handouts.
GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an’informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE’s initial release will include A&I for more than 600 titles, including comprehensive coverage - from to volume 1, issue 1 to present - for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), i>Journal of Ecology (back to 1913) and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men’s Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People’s Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers; and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children’s health, women’s health, etc.
HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free full-text life science articles in the world, with more than 850,000 online fulltext articles.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 480 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.
This database provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE standards.
This database covers all aspects of social and behavioral disciplines. Available via the Science Direct platform, the encyclopedia contains 4,000 articles, 150 biographies and 90,000 bibliographic references.
Harvard’s Islamic Heritage Project (IHP) is a digital collection that includes over 280 manuscripts, more than 50 maps, and more than 275 printed texts from Harvard?s renowned library and museum collections. Totaling over 156,000 pages, IHP materials date from the 10th to the 20th centuries CE, and represent many regions, including Saudi Arabia, North Africa, Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Palestine, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, and South, Southeast, and Central Asia. Languages covered are primarily Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish; also Urdu, Chagatai, Malay, Gujarati, Indic languages, and several Western languages. Subjects include religious texts and commentaries; Sufism; history, geography, law, and the sciences (astronomy, astrology, mathematics, medicine); poetry and literature; rhetoric, logic, and philosophy; calligraphy, dictionaries and grammar, as well as biographies and autobiographical works. Additional materials may be added to the IHP over time.
The JAMA Network brings JAMA together with the nine JAMA specialty journals to offer enhanced access to the research, reviews, and perspectives shaping the future of medicine. Through a variety of innovative tools, The JAMA Network provides the insights that matter most to medical research and practice.
The Journal Citation Reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations. The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. JCR Web shows the relationship between citing and cited journals in a clear, easy-to-use framework.
The LWW Total Access Collection is an expansive collection of all LWW journals available on OvidSP and that cater to your intensive medical information needs. This collection brings you just about every one of LWW’s titles, from essential core journals to specialized resources in such areas as nursing and bioscience, to help round out your knowledge base. With the Total Access Collection you get virtually all of LWW’s electronic journal content. The LWW Total Access Collection caters to those institutions with more intensive medical information needs - institutions supporting many clinicians, researchers, students and teachers, all of whom require 24/7 access to a larger collection of journals.
Access Note: Access to this collection is via the portal, Journals@OVID
Originally published by the “Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to help the scholarly community take advantage of advances in information technologies.” The JSTOR database is unique because it provides online access to the complete backfiles of 594 core scholarly journals (in digitized format) of several academic disciplines, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available and new titles are added constantly. However, JSTOR does not include current journal issues. There is a gap of about 2 to 5 years between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. This is JSTOR’s agreement with publishers referred to as a “moving wall”.
Labordoc, the ILO Library’s database, contains references and full text access to the world’s literature on the world of work. It covers all aspects of work and sustainable livelihoods and the work-related aspects of economic and social development, human rights and technological change. Much of the collection focuses on developing and transition countries, and a special effort is made to acquire material published in developing countries. There is a strong focus on empirical literature, although some material on labor economics, gender economics and welfare economics is included. Labordoc covers all of the publications by the ILO, whether published in Geneva or in the field, since 1919 and in all languages - including non-Roman scripts. It provides comprehensive coverage of material published by major research centers, international and regional organizations, labor administrations and non-governmental organizations, as well as providing references to articles selected regularly from over 500 journals. Approximately 500 new records are added each month.
The Lebanese Legal Counselor/المستشار في القانون اللبناني provides access to the complete collection of Lebanese legislation, laws and regulations since the Ottoman era till present.
N.B. Available on campus from RNL Reference Desk Only.
The Lebanese Official Gazette/المستشار في الجريدة الرسمية features current and back issues of the Lebanese official gazette. Laws, decrees, official decisions, official declarations, legal provisions, lawsuit announcements, commercial register announcements, etc.
N.B. Available on-campus from RNL Reference Desk only.
Lexicomp Online is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with a comprehensive medical library. Lexicomp provides drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Lexicomp and UpToDate have partnered to provide new and enhanced patient education leaflets.
Lexis is a licensed database with federal and state case law with extensive coverage. It also provides access to Shepard’s Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789, as well as to business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news, and more.
The new Lexis Middle East platform encompasses a complete up-to-date set of practical guidance tools and documents: Questions & Answers, Getting the Deal Through, Toolkits, and more than 1,500 exclusive Practice Notes from Gulf Legal Advisor.
Gulf Legal Advisor makes each discipline accessible through the guidance of lawyers who work in that field of law, day in and day out. It provides busy practitioners with the what, how, and why of the GCC laws that they need to work profitably daily.
On top of fully amended and consolidated laws, translated from Arabic to English by LexisNexis strategic partner Sader Legal Publishing, and regulatory material for more than 50 freezones and agencies, Lexis Middle East is the only platform that includes translations of all GCC gazette indexes and more than 15,000 case summaries.
N.B. Please make sure to create an individual account while on campus:
IP connection detected
We have detected that you are connecting from an authenticated IP address. From now on, in order to allow you to access the service, you must use an individual account. If this is your first login, click HERE to create an account.
LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
“Mashriq & Mahjar: Journal of Middle East Migration Studies”. It is a bi-annual electronic publication devoted to disseminating original research on migration from, to, and within the region now commonly known as the ‘Middle East.’ Its primary focus is on the Eastern Mediterranean. However, its scope also extends to Iran, Turkey, Greece and the Balkans, Egypt, and the Arabian Peninsula, and to all parts of the world affected by Middle Eastern migration, from the Americas and Africa to Australia and South-East Asia.
Mashriq & Mahjar is published by the Khayrallah Program for Lebanese-American Studies and the Department of History at North Carolina State University.
It is the Mathematical Science database produced by the American Mathematical Society (AMS). The database provides comprehensive coverage of international research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology and other disciplines. It contains full bibliographic references, with signed reviews or abstracts, of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and proceedings papers, in a ddition to information from the printed publications Mathematical Reviews (MR) and Current Mathematical Publications (CMP), both published by AMS. Literature coverage includes approximately 2,000 journals, conference proceedings and proceedings papers, books or chapters, advanced-level textbooks, and published dissertations.
medRxiv: The Preprint Server for Health Sciences. medRxiv (pronounced “med-archive”) is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.
MetaPress provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles from hundreds of journals, newsletters and other professional and academic publications.
From the Modern Language Association (MLA) and EBSCO, this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.
Nature Publishing Group (NPG) provides access to many of Macmillan Publisher’s online publications, including Palgrave Macmillan Journals and all NPG publications. In addition to Nature, which is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology, LAU Libraries subscribed to the following titles from NPG:
The American Journal of Gastroenterology
European Journal of Human Genetics
The Nutrition Care Process manual (NCP) is designed to improve the consistency and quality of nutrition care and the predictability of the nutrition care outcomes. LAU has a subscription for 4 simultaneous users.
N.B. Users are encouraged to logout after using the manual.
NEJM is a weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research findings, review articles and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice. Material is published with an emphasis on internal medicine and specialty areas including allergy/immunology, cardiology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology, kidney disease, oncology, pulmonary disease, rheumatology, HIV, and infectious diseases.
Available under ProQuest Central.
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, em>Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others. All staff articles are also included from many newspapers, including: The Dallas Morning News, Houston Chronicle, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Seattle Times, etc. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, and more.
Nursing Reference Center Plus™ is an evidence-based point-of-care resource to quickly answers nurses’ clinical questions. It includes multimedia (e.g. videos and images), nursing management topics, care plans, leadership and management continuing education modules, additional skills, and more!
It also contains cultural competencies, patient education, drug information, and reference books, guidelines, legal cases, and research instruments.
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
OAIster is a project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service providing free access to academically-oriented digital resources such as electronic books, theses, onlin e journals, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mpeg, quicktime), reference texts (e.g., dictionaries). It includes about 5,381,107 records from 475 institutions.
This database is the electronic repository for official documents published by the United Nations. The full text of documents is accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the United Nations (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish). Documents are stored in two databases: United Nations documentation, with comprehensive coverage beginning in 1993 and selected earlier coverage, and United Nations resolutions, which includes the official records version of resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and Trusteeship Council since 1946.
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
You can browse for World Bank content by Collections, Authors, Release Dates, Topics, and Title. Advanced Search is available and searches metadata such as title, abstracts, keywords, etc.
The OKR contains thousands of research works including:
World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies; Books published by the World Bank Group including flagship publications, academic books and practitioner volumes; All World Development Reports (WDRs) plus recent WDR background papers; Journal articles published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO), two journals published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the World Bank; Accepted manuscripts of Bank-authored journal articles from selected external publishers (after an embargo period if applicable); Metadata and links to Bank-authored external journal articles; Serial publications (typically data-intensive outlook reports); Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP)—a series of papers that disseminate findings of work in progress in order to encourage the exchange of ideas about development issues; and many more.
ORBIS provides detailed company information including financials on public and private companies worldwide. As well as descriptive information and company financials, ORBIS contains further detail such as news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership, and brief M&A data. It includes advanced search and analysis software so you can identify and evaluate companies around the world. Universities and business schools use Orbis around the world in their research, teaching and as a learning resource. Its 10 year history is a major benefit to academic researchers. Orbis is compatible with various academic access systems, protocols and subscription services.
Orbis bank focus contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide. You can use it to research individual companies and find companies with specific profiles and analyse them.
Company financials in a standardised format - “as reported” data can be unfolded; Financial strength indicators; Country profiles and outlook from the EIU; Directors and contacts; Original filings/images; Stock data for listed companies; Detailed corporate structures; Market research; Business and company related news; M&A deals and rumours.
MEDLINE on OvidSP offers you seamless and up-to-the-minute access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.
N.B. Change the resource selected to OVID Medline
Oxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. It publishes over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations. In addition to subscribing to the Core Collection package, LAU Libraries purchased the Social Sciences which includes more than 31 titles (1901-1995). For more information about the Social Sciences Archives click here.
A giant online database which includes a variety of library acclaimed dictionaries and reference works across the subject spectrum.
Palgrave Macmillan is a global academic and business publisher, serving learning and scholarship in the academic and professional worlds. It focuses on Business, Social Sciences and Humanities. LAU Libraries subscribe to around 60 titles in the following disciplines: Business & Management; Economics; Finance; Information Systems & Technology; Marketing; Office for National Statistics; Political Science & International Studies; and Social & Cultural Studies
Palgrave titles are available through SpringerLink platform
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. It is a comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Examples of titles offered in Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.
Project MUSE provides online access to the full text of over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. MUSE journals cover many different subject areas including literature, history, political science, economics, education, film, philosophy, religion, women’s studies, and many more.
One of the world’s most comprehensive collections of digital information. Covering over 5,500 journals and comprising thirty smaller databases, including ABI/INFORM® Global, Pharmaceutical News Index, ProQuest Accounting & Tax Database™, ProQuest Asian Business™, ProQuest Banking Information Source™, ProQuest Career & Technical Education™, ProQuest Computing™, ProQuest Education Complete™, ProQuest European Business™, ProQuest Newsstand™, ProQuest Religion™, ProQuest Telecommunications ™, and Academic Research Library™.
PQDT Full Text provides instant access to over 1.2 million PDF doctoral and masters dissertations on the ProQuest platform all cross-searchable with your other ProQuest journal and newspaper subscriptions. A database used by over 70% of the world’s leading research universities in the world. With scholarly research content in every discipline, PQDT Full Text supports all departments and disciplines, safe in the knowledge we will be adding new PDFs on an ongoing basis.
• All top ranking USA research universities, as defined by the Carnegie Foundation, work with UMI
• Includes works by authors from more than 1,700 graduate schools and universities the world over
• 700 active university partners publish on UMI
• 40% of PhDs from the worlds top universities are published in PQDT
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source™ provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations in nursing and related fields.
PsycARTICLES, published by the American Psychological Association, is recognized worldwide as a leading full-text source for academic, research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines.
PsycARTICLES on EBSCOHost platform
PubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain’s New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Research Papers in Economics (RePEc) is a collaborative effort of over 100 volunteers in 45 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. It consists of over 200,000 free items.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals Online is a Core database for chemistry that includes a collection of peer reviewed journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry. LAU Libraries subscribe to the Core Chemistry Package which includes the following titles:
ChemComm, Chemical Science, Dalton Transactions, Journal of Materials Chemistry, New Journal of Chemistry, Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry, Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics., and Energy & Environmental Science, are also available for LAU users.
It also links to ChemSpider a chemical search engine that offers free access to chemical structures and other online services.
Sage Publications is a leading international publisher of journals, books and electronic media for scholarly, educational and professional markets. The SAGE Journals Online provides articles text of journals published by SAGE and participating societies in the following subject areas: life science, medicine, physical science and social science.
Science is the world’s leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. In Science Collections you can browse by subject to find Science articles published in your field since 1996; view special content collections like Netwatch and Books et al.; browse the archive of articles from the Science of Aging Knowledge Environment; and find additional Web-only content and supplements to Science.s special issues. Links are also included to subject-targeted material from ScienceNow, the KEs, and ScienceCareers.org.
The only comprehensive web information source for world’s scientific, technical and medical research. ScienceDirect offers access to over 1,500 journals (full text), most from 1996 forward and some from 1993 forward. Users may navigate across 40 million records with links to 10,000 journal titles covering all fields of science. LAU Libraries have access to the Freedom Collection.
To access ScienceDirect OFF-CAMPUS:
I. You need first to register while ON-CAMPUS:
II- Once the registration is complete, you can now access ScienceDirect OFF-CAMPUS as follows:
Remote access is valid for 180 days. It will automatically be extended each time you sign in ON-CAMPUS.
For more details click here
SciFinderⁿ provides access to a comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information. It allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!
A global network of expert scientists curate and aggregate the world’s scientific patent and journal content daily and make it fully discoverable through the advanced technology contained in SciFinderⁿ.research activities.
To register please click here
Access the SciFindern quick start guide for a step-by-step journey into the product
Watch SciFindern How-To videos
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It offers access to 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, over 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 315 book series, 36 million abstracts of which: 18 million records include references going back to 1996 (75% include references), 18 million pre-1996 records go back as far as 1823, and more. It also offers information on who cited who, when and where.
Shamaa is an open access bibliographic database on Education in the Arab countries. . It indexes books, articles, thesis and dissertations in Arabic, French and English.
Experiments is a new research solution developed by Springer Nature to connect researchers with relevant and important protocols and methods to support their research projects. it helps them find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods across the life sciences.
SpringerLink is one of the world’s leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. LAU has access to the full text of more than 1,300 Springer and Kluwer journals, and about 13,000 e-books covering the years 2005-2008 via SpringerLink. Subjects covered are: Architecture, Design and Arts, Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics and Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy.
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Taylor & Francis Online is the new online platform for Taylor & Francis Group content. LAU Libraries provide access to more than 100 journals through this platform. Titles included: ?Applied Financial Economics, Building Research and information, Construction Management & Economics, Gender & Education, International Journal of Geographical Information Science, Middle Eastern Studies, Teaching in Higher Education, and more.
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles. TOPICsearch is a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,691 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
UpToDate is an electronic resource offering evidence-based, synthesized medical information. It is comprised of original topics written, reviewed, and continually updated by a faculty of physician experts.
UpToDate covers more than 7,400 topics in 13 medical specialties and includes more than 76,000 pages of text, graphics, designed to anticipate and answer clinical questions, as well as links to Medline abstracts, more than 254,000 references, and a drug database.
UpToDate Anywhere is available for LAU users. In order to login to UpToDate off-campus you need to register while on campus. On the UpToDate home page, click the Register link in the upper right corner. Complete the registration form and Click Submit.
To log in to your UpToDate® online account:
1. Go to www.uptodate.com
2. On the UpToDate home page, click the Log In link in the upper right corner.
3. Enter your user name and password in the Log In box on the next page
To maintain your access to UpToDate you will need to confirm your affiliation with Lebanese American University every 90 days. To do this simply login to UpToDate from within the Lebanese American University network.
Available under ProQuest Central
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database indexing conference proceeding and articles gathered from thousands of high impact scholarly journals. It provides access to the world’s leading citation databases. Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with backfiles to 1989. Web of Science is available via ISI Web of Knowledge, the comprehensive research platform of choice for over 20 million users in 90 countries worldwide.
The Libraries subscribe to the following packages:
• Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)
• Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
In order to login to Web of Science off-campus you need to register while on campus. On the Web of Science home page, click the Register link in the upper right corner, then complete the registration form.
The Who Is She in Lebanon is an online database with profiles of prominent contemporary Lebanese women. This project started in 2008 following a bilateral partnership between the Institute for Women?s Studies in the Arab World (IWSAW) at the Lebanese American University (LAU) and KVINFO, the Danish Centre for Information on Women and Gender http://www.kvinfo.dk/side/661/ , a grant-maintained self-governing institution under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Culture in Denmark. This database provides access to biographical information on a large number of contemporary women in one of the following categories: opinion leaders, senior managers, politicians, professionals, artists, researchers, and experts within a wide range of subjects.
Wiley-Blackwell is a multidisciplinary database that holds the content for most of Wiley-Blackwell’s journals, the majority of which are published on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies, i.e., Business and Society Review, Child Development, The Muslim World, International Affairs, and Journal of Sociolinguistics.
World Development Indicators Online (WDI) is a comprehensive database on development data published by the World Bank’s. It provides direct access to more than 800 development indicators, with time series for 209 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2008, where data are available (see WDI data availability query).