The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
Multidisciplinary
1997-present
Monthly
Citation + Abstract + Full textCambridge Journals Online (CJO) is the e-publishing service for over 250 journals published by Cambridge University Press (CUP). In addition to subscribing to the Core Collection package, LAU Libraries purchased the Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) Archives which includes more than 60 titles (from issue 1). For more information about the STM Archives click here . Users are encouraged to register for an account in order to take advantage of all CUP services, such as: Content alerts (to keep up-to-date with the latest research in your field); Access free online sample material for almost all Cambridge journals, and more.
Multidisciplinary Current Weekly Full textThis database includes articles/theses available in any of the Canadian Association of Research Libraries institutional repositories.
Pharmacy Current Full textThe Center is a consumer watchdog in America’s healthcare system. CDER’s best-known job is to evaluate new drugs before they can be sold. The Center’s review of new drug applications not only prevents quackery, but it provides doctors and patients with the information they need to use medicines wisely. The Center makes sure that safe and effective drugs are available to improve the health of consumers. CDER ensures that prescription and over-the-counter drugs, both brand name and generic, work correctly and that the health benefits outweigh known risks.
ChemistryChemSpider (from the Royal Society of Chemistry) is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 32 million structures, properties, and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from ~500 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search.
ChemSpider builds on the collected sources by adding additional properties, related information, and links back to original data sources. ChemSpider offers text and structure searching to find compounds of interest and provides unique services to improve this data by curation and annotation, and to integrate it with users’ applications.
Education 1995-present Full textA major source of information for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Nursing, Allied Health, Biomedicine 1937-Present Daily Citation + abstract + full textMost comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Pharmacy, Medicine, Nursing Current Full text + abstract + citationElsevier’s ClinicalKey is a “clinical insight engine” that provides access to Elsevier’s current medical and surgical content It is built from the ground up on Smart Content tagged from Elsevier’s proprietary EMMeT taxonomy. It allows you to share the clinically relevant answers you find. ClinicalKey provides access to 800+ books in every medical discipline; 500+ top journals; 9,000+ videos of surgical procedures and other techniques.
You need to create your personal account within LAU network, by clicking on “Register” and following the registration steps.
For off-campus access use your personal account by clicking on: https://www.clinicalkey.com
ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult
Medicine, Nursing Quarterly Full textThe Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. It is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Sciences Current Full textCogprints is an electronic archive for self-archived papers in any area of Psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, and many other areas of computer science.
Reference Current Full textThis database serves as a unique guide to the ways in which names offer insight into the political, cultural, religious, and aesthetic meanings that people ascribe to particular environments, and in which the values of places change. The dynamism of the world system since World War II is graphically illustrated by changed names for both renewed and pre-existing places.
Communication, Mass Media 1995-present Weekly Full text + abstract + citationCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 420 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 301 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as “core”). In addition, CMMC features over 3,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Reference Current Full textCredo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of over 250 reference books. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology, languages, technology, business, economics & finance, biography, literature and many more. Search each title individually or search across the entire collection. Credo also contains a helpful crossword solver, and useful conversion calculators. Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more.
MultidisciplinaryCUFTS is an open source journal finder also called link resolver. It includes a knowledge base of over 280 electronic resources with 289,000 journal title records.