LAU Libraries
Online databases
The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
Note: Use of many of these resources is governed by license agreements which restrict use to the LAU community. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
AACR Journals Suite

Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing
1998-present
Monthly
Full text
Founded in 1907, the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) is a professional society of more than 24,000 laboratory and clinical scientists engaged in basic, translational, and clinical cancer research in the United States and over 60 other countries. It is an authoritative source of information about advances in the causes, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of cancer. Its principal activities include the publication of seven major peer-reviewed scientific journals (Cancer Discovery, Cancer Research; Clinical Cancer Research; Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers & Prevention; Molecular Cancer Therapeutics; Molecular Cancer Research; Cancer Prevention Research).
ABI/INFORM Global
Business
1971-present
See ProQuest Central
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary
1865-present
Daily
Abstract + citation + full text
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology, and many other fields.
AccessMedicine
Sciences
Current
Daily
Full text
McGraw-Hill’s AccessMedicine.com is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, and researchers with instant answers to clinical questions from trusted sources. To keep pace with the changing practice of medicine, AccessMedicine delivers the latest medical advances and knowledge from recognized physicians delivered in a digital aggregation with online desktop, PDA, iPod, and MP3 compatible device solutions. Updated daily by world-renowned physicians and expanded continuously, AccessMedicine is designed for direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
N.B. "USERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO CONFIRM THE INFORMATION CONTAINED ON ANY OF THE ACCESSMEDICINE SITES, WlTH OTHER SOURCES. FOR EXAMPLE, AND IN PARTICULAR, USERS ARE ADVISED TO CHECK THE PRODUCT INFORMATION SHEET INCLUDED IN THE PACKAGE OF EACH DRUG THEY PLAN TO ADMINISTER TO BE CERTAIN THAT THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN ANY OF THE ACCESSMEDICINE SITES IS ACCURATE AND THAT CHANGES HAVE NOT BEEN MADE IN THE RECOMMENDED DOSE OR IN THE CONTRAINDICATIONS FOR ADMINISTRATION".
AccessScience
Sciences, Technology
Current
Daily
Full text
McGraw-Hill’s AccessScience is an online gateway to library of science and technology information. Updated daily, AccessScience delivers the latest content of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and other related information.
This database contains more than 8,500 articles written for students, researchers, and the general public. More than 5,000 contributors are the leading figures in their fields—including 35 Nobel Prize winners. It also includes late breaking news, biographies of famous scientists, a Student Center, tutorials, and much more—all brought to life by 13,000 high-quality illustrations and rich media content.
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Computer Science, Engineering
Current
Full text
It is the full-text repository of papers published by ACM and by other publishers that have co-publishing or co-marketing agreements with ACM. It contains citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
Al Charaeh
Legislation
1921-present
Full text
Provides access to the complete collection of Lebanese legislation from 1921 to the present. It is a CD-ROM database available from the premises of the LAU Libraries (Beirut and Byblos) only.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals Online
Biology, Chemistry, Medicine, Physics
1996-present
Full text
The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. LAU Libraries subscribe to 40 journals from ACS Publications (including 5 copublished with other scientific societies).
N.B. Chemical & Engineering News, Reagent Chemicals, Division Proceedings or C&EN Online are not yet part of our subscription.American Concrete Institute MCP

Concrete technology
Abstract + citation
The Online MCP contains all of the ACI documents you need to answer your questions about code requirements, specifications, tolerances, concrete proportions, construction methods, evaluations of test results, materials and properties construction practices, inspection, and pavements use of concrete buildings, bridges and special structures precast concrete, masonry, etc. The Online MCP includes over 4,600 pages and 180 of the most used documents on concrete technology.
The American Journal of Nursing (AJN)
Nursing
1900-present
Monthly
Full text
The American Journal of Nursing (AJN) is the oldest and largest circulating, broad-based nursing journal in the world. AJN is published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, part of Wolters Kluwer Health. It promotes excellence in nursing and health care through the dissemination of evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information and original research, discussion of relevant and controversial professional issues, adherence to standards of journalistic integrity and excellence, and promotion of nursing perspectives to the health care community and the public.
American Society for Microbiology (ASM)
Medicine, Pharmacy
1992-present
Full text + abstract
This database provides access to the full text of the ASM journals back to 1995 and to the abstracts only back to 1992, as well as links to outside but related databases, i.e., Medline, PubMed, GenBank, etc.
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Engineering, Civil Engineering
1995-present
Monthly
Full text
This database provides access to the full text of over 20 ASCE journals back to January 1999, as well as to a link to the Civil Engineering Database which includes over 80,000 bibliographic and abstracted records.
An-Nahar (Archives)
Newspaper
1933-present
Quarterly
Full text
This database provides access to the full text of the Lebanese daily newspaper An-Nahar (TIF format).
Note: To browse this database with Internet Explorer (Windows), please make the following adjustments: Under Tools, press Internet Options, select the Security tab, select Local Intranet, press Custom Level, enable Download Unsigned ActiveX Control, press OK twice.
ANAIS (An-Nahar Online)
Newspaper
1985-present
Quarterly
Full text
This database provides access to the full text of the Lebanese daily newspaper An-Nahar (HTML format).
Annual Reviews
Sciences
1996-present
Annually
Full text
Founded in 1932, Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 32 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI).
With the Reviews in Advance, articles will begin to appear up to 7 months prior to the publication date of the print volume.
Art Full Text (by Wilson)
Art
1994-present
Monthly
Full text + abstract
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997. Subject coverage includes Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video, etc.
Art Museum Image Gallery
Art
Full text + images
The Art Museum Image Gallery is an online collection of high-quality, digital documentation of works of art from around the world. Works from major European, American, and Canadian artists in the collections of member museums are included. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. The database includes over 90,000 works of art.
N.B.: H.W. Wilson has launched the Art Museum Gallery to replace The AMICO Library.
ARTstor
Art, Humanities, Social Sciences
Pre-history - present
Images
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections ). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides ).
N.B. "Before entering the ARTstor Digital Library, you will need to set your browser’s pop-up blocker to accept pop-up windows from www.artstor.org. If you choose not to do so, you will not be able to fully open the images".
ArXiv

Sciences
Current
Full text
ArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
ASME International
Engineering, Mechanical Engineering
2000-present
Monthly
Full text
This database contains the full text of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. ASME International conducts one of the world’s largest technical publishing operations, holds some 30 technical conferences and 200 professional development courses each year, and sets many industrial and manufacturing standards.
ASTM International
Engineering
Current
Full text
The online version provides full-text access to all 11,000+ ASTM standards addressing areas like metals, petroleum, construction, rubber, the environment and more. Access to the database is ID- and password- controlled. For those interested in downloading any ASTM standard, please feel free to contact Mrs. Marie-Therese Mitri at the Byblos Library, ext. 2273.
Bankscope
Business, Finance
16 years of bank data
Varies by types of data
Full text
BANKSCOPE provides up to 16 years of detailed financial information on over 29,199 public and private banks worldwide. Each bank report contains detailed consolidated and/or unconsolidated balance sheet and income statement. Data comes from seven sources with Fitch Ratings being the major data provider. The database also provides: company and country risk ratings and reports, ratios, ownership information, graphs, peer comparison, security and price information, and more. Available on campus only.
BioMed Central

Biomedical
Current
Full text
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to the full text of over 100 peer-reviewed biomedical journals.
Business Source Complete
Business
1886-present
Daily
Full text +abstract+citation
Business Source Complete This is a scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Business Source Complete is also a database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities
Reference, Directories
Current
Full bibliographic record
Cabell Publishing, Inc. was founded to help professors, graduate students, and researchers publish their manuscripts in academic journals. The Directory helps you to determine which journals typically publish manuscripts similar to yours or could be the best fit for your manuscript. The index in each Directory helps you match the characteristics of your manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes and acceptance rate.
LAU Libraries subscribe to the following Cabell’s online directories:
- Accounting
- Economics and Finance
- Management
- Marketing
- Educational Curriculum and Methods
- Educational Psychology and Administration
- Educational Technology and Library Science
- Psychology and Psychiatry
- Computer Science
N.B. You can access your selected directories by clicking the ‘Members’ link on our home page (www.cabells.com) or by going to http://cabells.com/members.aspx (using Internet Explorer browser, version 6.0 or later). When you enter the members’ area, you should immediately see a screen that tells you which directories you may view. You should not have to enter a password or an ID number.
Cambridge Journals Online (CJO)
Multidisciplinary
1997-present
Monthly
Citation + Abstract + Full text
Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) is the e-publishing service for over 250 journals published by Cambridge University Press (CUP). In addition to subscribing to the Core Collection package, LAU Libraries purchased the Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) Archives which includes more than 60 titles (from issue 1). For more information about the STM Archives click here . Users are encouraged to register for an account in order to take advantage of all CUP services, such as: Content alerts (to keep up-to-date with the latest research in your field); Access free online sample material for almost all Cambridge journals, and more.
CARL Metadata Harvester

Multidisciplinary
Current
Weekly
Full text
This database includes articles/theses available in any of the Canadian Association of Research Libraries institutional repositories.
Cartoon Image Database

Cartoon
Current
Continually updated
Images
Cartoon Image Database, is a digital image database of the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum at Ohio State University. it contains thousands of scanned images from the collection; however, these represent only a small portion of the total collection. Sources are original art and tear sheets or other printed materials. The collection is the home of the world’s most comprehensive academic research facility dedicated to documenting cartoon art. This remarkable, comprehensive accumulation covers Ohio State University’s manga collection and Treasury of Fine Art, and the San Francisco Academy of Comic Art’s holdings. Users may sort results by some 14 categories including format, creator, and publication, and use the single cartoon images to produce stylistic comparisons, investigate the history of themes, scan story sequences, and, with the zoom capabilities, make a close inspection of artistic techniques.
Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)

Pharmacy
Current
Full text
The Center is a consumer watchdog in America’s healthcare system. CDER’s best-known job is to evaluate new drugs before they can be sold. The Center’s review of new drug applications not only prevents quackery, but it provides doctors and patients with the information they need to use medicines wisely. The Center makes sure that safe and effective drugs are available to improve the health of consumers. CDER ensures that prescription and over-the-counter drugs, both brand name and generic, work correctly and that the health benefits outweigh known risks.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online

Research tool
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is a style guide for American English published since 1906 by the University of Chicago Press. It provides quick answers to style and editing questions. Full content of the 16th and 15th editions is available.
Choice Reviews Online
Bibliography, Reviews
Current
Full record
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and Choice Reviews Online for collection development and scholarly research. Choice reaches almost every undergraduate college and university library in the United States. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews.
N.B. It is very important that you use the log out links. Simply closing out of the browser does not log you out.
Top Tips for Using the New Choice Reviews OnlineChronicle of Higher Education
Education
1995-present
Full text
A major source of information for college and university faculty members and administrators.
User name: 11130627
Password: kurarYzuCINAHL Plus with Full Text
Nursing, Allied Health
1937-present
Daily
Citation + abstract + full text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL, and 240 books/monographs. It also provides a complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, and more.
Clinical Pharmacology

Medicine, Pharmacy
Current
Full text
Clinical Pharmacology is a searchable drug information resource that provides monographs, product identification modules, patient education, and interaction reports. Clinical Pharmacology sets the standard for today?s referential and point-of-care drug information solutions. It is used by more than 1,500 hospitals and over 35,000 retail pharmacies in the U.S., as well as government and managed care agencies, PBMs, pharmaceutical manufacturers and academic institutions.
What’s New Video Orientation (requires FLASH v7.0 or higher) - This short, narrated video gives an overview of the new features and functionality of the new Clinical Pharmacology Website.
Clinical Pharmacology Tutorial (requires FLASH v7.0 or higher) - This complete video tutorial will provide you with a full overview and orientation to the Clinical Pharmacology product.The Cochrane Library
Medicine
Quarterly
Full text
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. It is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Cogprints

Sciences
Current
Full text
Cogprints is an electronic archive for self-archived papers in any area of Psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, and many other areas of computer science.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Reference
Current
Full text
This database serves as a unique guide to the ways in which names offer insight into the political, cultural, religious, and aesthetic meanings that people ascribe to particular environments, and in which the values of places change. The dynamism of the world system since World War II is graphically illustrated by changed names for both renewed and pre-existing places.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
International Affairs
1991-present
Monthly
Full text
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Communication & Mass Media Completetrade; (CMMC)
Communication, Mass Media
1995-present
Weekly
Full text + abstract + citation
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 420 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 301 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as "core"). In addition, CMMC features over 3,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database..
Credo Reference
Reference
Current
Full text
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of over 250 reference books. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology, languages, technology, business, economics & finance, biography, literature and many more. Search each title individually or search across the entire collection. Credo also contains a helpful crossword solver, and useful conversion calculators. Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more.
CUFTS

Multidisciplinary
CUFTS is an open source journal finder also called link resolver. It includes a knowledge base of over 280 electronic resources with 289,000 journal title records.
DataStream
Finance
1950- present
Statistical data
Thomson Datastream is a financial and statistical database. It contains more than two million financial instruments, securities and indicators for over 175 countries in 60 markets. Holding up to 50 years of history and over 8,000 different fields, it provides access to over one hundred million time series.
Datastream Advance is a reporting and charting interface specifically designed for use with Datastream’s financial data service. Advance’s easy-to-use interface allows users to request over 100 standard Datastream reports, charts and data with great flexibility. Once you have your information, Advances dedicated facilities help you format your reports and charts, and save them for regular updating, printing and exporting (MS Word, Excel & Powerpoint.)
Available on campus only, please check with the Reference Librarian.DealScan
Finance
1988- present
Weekly
Statistical data
DealScan provides information on the global commercial loan market. It provides users with access to Reuters LPC’s database of detailed terms and conditions on over 155,000 loan and bond transactions. It contains detailed deal terms and conditions on over 139,000 loans and high-yield bonds worldwide dating back to 1988, and selected coverage back to 1981.
Approximately 200 to 250 new transactions added to the database each week making it the most comprehensive, up-to-date source for bank loan market data. Approximately 300 new transactions are added weekly to the database.
Available on campus only, please check with the Reference Librarian.Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Multidisciplinary
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 1,135 journals in the directory. Currently 296 journals are searchable at article level. To date 50,478 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
Dissertations & Theses
Bibliography, Thesis
1861-present
Monthly
Full record + abstract
Available under ProQuest Central.
Doody’s Review Service

Bibliography
current
Monthly
Full Bibliographic record
Unique collection development tool featuring the most extensive database of expert reviews of books and software in the health sciences, now numbering more than 25,000 and updated weekly.
Access provided by username and password (check with the Reference Department)
ebrary
Multidisciplinary
Varies by title
Full text
The Ebrary Academic Complete Collection is a book database that offers full-text online access to over 70,613 authoritative titles from more than 200 leading academic, STM, and professional publishers. Subjects include: Business and Economics; Career & General Education; Computers, Engineering & Applied Sciences; Humanities; Science, Medicine & Allied Health; Social & Behavioral Sciences. Ebrary is delivered via the ebrary Dynamic Content Platform (DCP)(tm) featuring the ebrary Reader(tm).
EconLit™ with Full Text
Economics, Finance
1969-present
Daily
Citation + abstract + full text
EconLit™ with Full Text contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for more than 500 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo (American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives). EconLit, the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. It provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Education Research Complete
Education
1866-present
Full text+abstract+citation
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,870 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,060 journals. This database also includes full text for 133 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
The Electronic Library of Mathematics

Mathematics
Hosted by the European Mathematical Society, this rich database provides a number of books and conference proceedings, in addition to a wealth of journals online.
Emerald
Business, Management, Library and Information Science
1994-present
Full text
A powerful business and management research tool that provides instant access to over 40,000 full text articles from over one hundred Emerald titles going back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Reference
Current
Full text
A reference site for students, educators, and parents which includes the complete encyclopædia, with more than 72,000 articles, updated and revised by professional editors and contributors; over 10,000 illustrations, photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 75,000 definitions with pronunciation guides and word histories from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Plus, the Encyclopædia Britannica Intermediate which offers over 38,000 articles and 4,000 images, illustrations, maps and flags. This site can also be used to search an internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition
Agriculture, Nutrition, Food Science
2003-present
Current
Full text
This database is an expanded and updated version of the eight-volume Encyclopedia of Food Science, Food Technology and Nutrition (1993). Available via the Science Direct platform, the encyclopedia covers the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition.
Encyclopedia of Islam Online
Reference Work, Islam, Islamic Studies
EI2 (1955-2005) and EI3 (2007-)
Quarterly
Full text
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) is a unique reference tool, and an authoritative source ?of information about the world of Islam. it consists of both the second edition (?EI2?) and the third edition (?EI3?). The Second Edition sets out the present state of Brill?s knowledge of the Islamic World. The Third Edition is an entirely new work in progress (publication started in 2007), it contains new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
EI Online includes over 10,000 entries from hundreds of scholars, with full color illustrations (sizeable), an easy referencing at end of each article. The search engine for EI Online automatically searches both editions and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.Encyclopedia of Journalism
Journalism, Reference
Current
Full text
Encyclopedia of Journalism, published by Sage Publications, Inc., is composed of six-volumes that cover all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. Available through Sage Reference Online Platform.
Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance
Finance, Reference
Current
Full text
The Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance is a major reference work designed to provide a comprehensive coverage of essential topics related to the quantitative modeling of financial markets, with authoritative contributions from leading academics and professionals.
Energy Citations Database

Energy
1948-present
Monthly
Full text + abstract + citation
Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.
ERIC Educational Resources Information Center

Education
1966-present
Monthly
Citation + abstract
ERIC is the world’s largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database is updated monthly with the latest citations available, and provides access to ERIC Document citations and ERIC Journal citations from 1966 to the present.
The Europa World of Learning
Reference
Current
Data revised and updated throughout the year
Full text
The World of Learning is a directory that covers over 30,000 academic institutions worldwide and more than 200,000 individuals in the academic sphere.
It provides data and contact details on: universities and colleges, research institutes, museums and galleries, learned societies, libraries and archives, scholarly publications, 500+ international organizations concerned with higher education and scholarship, and more.
Europa World Online
Reference
Current
Full text
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world’s leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Regional Surveys of the World are also included.
Expanded Academic ASAP International Edition
Multidisciplinary
1980-present
Daily
Full text + abstract + citation
Please enter the following password "lau" if needed then click on proceed.
This resource offers balanced, full text coverage of every academic discipline from advertising and microbiology to history, political science, and art history. It also incorporates many interdisciplinary journals, international news magazines and the New York Times.
Indexed/Full-text: 3,000/1,900Free Medical Journals

Medicine
Current
Abstract + full text
This site provides free access to selected medical journals published in English and other languages such as French, German, and Spanish. Browsable by subject, alphabetically and by language.
Global Books in Print (GBIP)
Bibliography, Thesis
Current
Full bibliographic record
One of the most comprehensive databases of U.S., Canadian, and U.K. books, audio, and video. Over 5 million titles including more than 165,000 worldwide publishers and distributors listings, along with direct links to their websites and e-mails.
Global Development Finance (GDF) Online
Finance
1970-present
Full-Text
Global Development Finance (GDF) is a statistical database, produced by the World Bank Group. GDF Online offers external debt and financial flow data for the 135 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank’s Debtor Reporting System. The timeseries for 216 indicators run from 1970 to 2006, with contractual obligations data until 2015. The indicators include external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructurings, and scheduled debt service projections.
The GDF Online subscription also includes topical country data and regional aggregates showing time series in table and chart form. The topics are: external debt, aggregate net resource flows (long term), net flows and transfers on debt, net financial flows from multilateral institutions, and international bond issues (new and outstanding).
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Medicine, Pharmacy
1996-present
Daily
Full text
This multisource reference for health and wellness provides access to hundreds of thousands of full-text articles from respoected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; several authoritative full-text reference books; newsletters; more than 725 full-text health pamphlets; newspaper articles; more than 1,800 full-text topical overviews from clinical reference systems, and much more.
Indexed/Full Text: 320/2,770HighWire Press

Life Science
1995-present
Full text
HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free full-text life science articles in the world, with more than 850,000 online fulltext articles.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Hospitality Management, Tourism
1965-present
Bimonthly
Citation + Abstract + Full text
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 700,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 340 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.
IEEE Xplore
Engineering
1950-present
Full text
This database provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE standards.
Images.MD
Medicine
Current
Continually updated
Images + Full text
images.MD compiles over 70,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed and informative text written by over 2,000 contributing experts.
Users can also register to use the My Slides software which allows creation of Microsoft PowerPoint slideshows (presentations containing up to 20 images can be sent to any email address free of charge)IMF e-LIBRARY
International Finance, Statistics
1945-present
Monthly
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators. LAU Libraries subscribed to the following databases from the IMF Premier Statistical Resources:
Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP) contains over 100,000 quarterly and annual time-series data.
International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.
Direction of Trade Statistics (DOT) provides statistics on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners.
Government Finance Statistics (GFS) provides data on budgetary operations, extra-budgetary operations, social security, and consolidated financial operations of central governments.
Index Islamicus
Islamic and Middle East Studies
1906-2000
Annual
Citation
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906.
INFORMS PubsOnline
Industrial Engineering
2000-present
Monthly
Abstract + full text
The Institute for Operations Research and Management Sciences (INFORMS) is the largest professional society in the world for professionals in the field of Operations Research. INFORMS publishes 12 scholarly journals that describe the latest OR/MS methods and applications.
Titles are:
- Decision Analysis
- Interfaces
- Information Systems Research
- Journal on Computing
- Marketing Science
- Mathematics of Operations Research
- Management Science
- Manufacturing and Service Operations Management
- Operations Research
- Organization Science
- Transportation Science
- INFORMS Transactions on Education (Open Access)IngentaConnect

Social Sciences
Dates vary according to subscription
Citation + abstract + full text
IngentaConnect provides libraries and researchers with access to the most comprehensive collection of academic and professional content available online from over 260 academic and professional publishers. Articles are available full text if the library has access to the online version of the journal. Currently LAU Libraries have access to more than 14 titles.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Psychology, Sociology
Current
Full text
This database covers all aspects of social and behavioral disciplines. Available via the Science Direct platform, the encyclopedia contains 4,000 articles, 150 biographies and 90,000 bibliographic references.
Islamic Heritage Project (from Harvard)

Reference, Islam
10th to 20th centuries CE
Manuscripts+Maps+Texts
Harvard’s Islamic Heritage Project (IHP) is a digital collection that includes over 280 manuscripts, more than 50 maps, and more than 275 printed texts from Harvard?s renowned library and museum collections. Totaling over 156,000 pages, IHP materials date from the 10th to the 20th centuries CE, and represent many regions, including Saudi Arabia, North Africa, Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Palestine, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, and South, Southeast, and Central Asia. Languages covered are primarily Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish; also Urdu, Chagatai, Malay, Gujarati, Indic languages, and several Western languages. Subjects include religious texts and commentaries; Sufism; history, geography, law, and the sciences (astronomy, astrology, mathematics, medicine); poetry and literature; rhetoric, logic, and philosophy; calligraphy, dictionaries and grammar, as well as biographies and autobiographical works. Additional materials may be added to the IHP over time.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Journal Evaluation, Multidisciplinary
1997-present
Annual
Full record
The Journal Citation Reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations. The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. JCR Web shows the relationship between citing and cited journals in a clear, easy-to-use framework.
Journals@OVID

Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing, Psychology, Multidisciplinary
Current
Monthly
Citation + abstract + full text
Hundreds of Journals are available in the Journals@Ovid database. LAU Libraries have a subscription to 119 titles. In addition to our subscribed titles, OVID also provides Free Full Text by linking seamlessly from the bibliographic record to the corresponding full text article available free on the Internet through DOAJ, Highwire, PubMed Central, and other sources.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary, Economics, Education, Political Sciences
1800-
Monthly
Full text
Originally published by the “Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to help the scholarly community take advantage of advances in information technologies.” The JSTOR database is unique because it provides online access to the complete backfiles of 594 core scholarly journals (in digitized format) of several academic disciplines, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available and new titles are added constantly. However, JSTOR does not include current journal issues. There is a gap of about 2 to 5 years between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. This is JSTOR’s agreement with publishers referred to as a “moving wall”.
Kompass
Business
Current
Full text
Kompass is a very large source for information about companies all over the world. This database provides information for over 1.6 companies worldwide, 50,000 product and service codes, 23 million product and service references, 744,000 trade and brand names, and about 3,2 million executives’ names in over 70 countries.
LABORDOC

Social Sciences
1919- Present
Monthly
Full-text + Citation
Labordoc, the ILO Library’s database, contains references and full text access to the world’s literature on the world of work. It covers all aspects of work and sustainable livelihoods and the work-related aspects of economic and social development, human rights and technological change. Much of the collection focuses on developing and transition countries, and a special effort is made to acquire material published in developing countries. There is a strong focus on empirical literature, although some material on labor economics, gender economics and welfare economics is included. Labordoc covers all of the publications by the ILO, whether published in Geneva or in the field, since 1919 and in all languages - including non-Roman scripts. It provides comprehensive coverage of material published by major research centers, international and regional organizations, labor administrations and non-governmental organizations, as well as providing references to articles selected regularly from over 500 journals. Approximately 500 new records are added each month.
LexisNexis Academic
Business, Legal, Finance, News, Reference
1979-present
Daily
Full text
LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options. LexisNexis Academic is available at over 1,500 libraries serving over 8 million students and faculty. It provides access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. This product also provides access to Shepard’s Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789, as well as to business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news, and more.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Library and Information Science
1965-present
Citation
LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature
Current
Full text
Literature Criticism Online contains scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It’s all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today’s researchers demand.
Titles available for LAU users are:- 20th century Literary criticism –start volume #236
- Short story criticism –start volume #138
- Drama criticism–start volume #39
- Contemporary Literary criticism –start volume #290
- 19th century Literary criticism –start volume #227
- Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800–start volume #178
- Shakespearean criticism–start volume #131
Literature Resource Center
English Language, Literature
1963-present
Monthly
Full text + citation
(No description available.)
MathEduc
Mathematics, Education
1976-present
Monthly
Citation + abstract
MathEduc (formerly MATHDI) is an international reference database offering a world-wide overview of literature on research, theory and practice in mathematics education. MathEduc also covers education in computer science on the elementary level. The scope includes literature for all school levels up to university education, teachers’ training, job training, includes literature for all school levels up to university education, teacher education, general and vocational education. About 500 journals from all over the world are evaluated as well as books and teaching material.
References are searchable by author, title, global index, source, ZDM classification, and publication year.MathSci/MathSciNet
Mathematics
1940-present
Citation + abstract
It is the Mathematical Science database produced by the American Mathematical Society (AMS). The database provides comprehensive coverage of international research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology and other disciplines. It contains full bibliographic references, with signed reviews or abstracts, of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and proceedings papers, in a ddition to information from the printed publications Mathematical Reviews (MR) and Current Mathematical Publications (CMP), both published by AMS. Literature coverage includes approximately 2,000 journals, conference proceedings and proceedings papers, books or chapters, advanced-level textbooks, and published dissertations.
MD Consult
Medicine, Pharmacy
1997-present
Full text + abstract + citation
A division of the world’s leading health science publisher Elsevier, MD Consult operates a family of electronic information resources that meet the clinical content needs of physicians and other health care professionals.
MedlinePlus

Medicine, Pharmacy
Current
According to types of data
Citation + Abstract + Full text link
MedlinePlus directs you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus also contains extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, the latest health news, and surgery videos.
MetaPress

Multidisciplinary
Current
Citation + Abstract + Full text link
MetaPress provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles from hundreds of journals, newsletters and other professional and academic publications.
MICROMEDEX 2.0
Medicine, Pharmacy
Current
Full text
Evidence based information from MICROMEDEX. The database publishes clinical decision support databases and tools. The MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series provides a wide range of databases tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals, including information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, and patient education. The following products are included in LAU’s subscription of MICROMEDEX.
- AAPCC Codes in POISINDEX
- Alternative Medicine
- DRUGDEX System
- Imprint Codes in Identidex
- Index Nominum
- Martindale
- PDR
- POISINDEX Managements
- REPRORISK SystemMLA International Bibliography
English Language, Literature
1963-present
Monthly
Citation + abstract
The MLA International Bibliography, from the Modern Language Association of America, is the fundamental research tool for the humanities. The database indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore, from over 3,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.
Number of records: 1.3 million+Nature Publishing Group
Medicine, Sciences
2007-present
Weekly
Full text
Nature Publishing Group (NPG) provides access to many of Macmillan Publisher’s online publications, including Palgrave Macmillan Journals and all NPG publications. In addition to Nature, which is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology, LAU Libraries subscribed to the following titles from NPG:
The American Journal of Gastroenterology
American Journal of Hypertension
Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics
European Journal of Human Genetics
Nature
Nature Biotechnology
Nature Genetics
Nature Medicine
Nature Reviews Immunology
Nature Reviews MicrobiologyNew England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)
Medicine
Current
Weekly
Full text
NEJM is a weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research findings, review articles and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice. Material is published with an emphasis on internal medicine and specialty areas including allergy/immunology, cardiology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology, kidney disease, oncology, pulmonary disease, rheumatology, HIV, and infectious diseases.
The New York Times (archives)
Newspaper
1851-2001
One year added annually
Full text
Available under ProQuest Central.
Newspaper Database (NY Times + Others)
Newspaper
Current
Daily
Full text
This innovative, full-text newspaper database lets you electronically search articles by title, headline, date, author, section, etc. The LAU Libraries subscribe to four titles from a growing list of more than 30 newspapers from around the world, i.e., The New York Times, Washington Times, Financial Times, Herald Tribune, etc.
NLM® Gateway

Medicine, Pharmacy
1966-present
Citation + Abstract + Full text link
Gateway is "One-stop shopping" for an increasing number of the information resources of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It’s targeted to the Internet user who comes to NLM not knowing exactly what is here, or how best to search for it. A single interface that searches in multiple retrieval systems, Gateway provides a single address, look, and feel.
Nursing Reference Center (NRC)
Reference,Nursing,Allied Health
Current
Daily
Full text
Nursing Reference Center (NRC) provides a user-friendly point-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians. It delivers the best available and most recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases via a nursing-specific graphical interface.
NRC tutorial: Take a tour.
NYPL Digital Gallery

Art
Images
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
OAIster

Multidisciplinary
Weekly
Full text + abstract + citation
OAIster is a project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service providing free access to academically-oriented digital resources such as electronic books, theses, onlin e journals, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mpeg, quicktime), reference texts (e.g., dictionaries). It includes about 5,381,107 records from 475 institutions.
Official Document System of the United Nations (ODS)

Documents
1946-present
Full text
This database is the electronic repository for official documents published by the United Nations. The full text of documents is accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the United Nations (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish). Documents are stored in two databases: United Nations documentation, with comprehensive coverage beginning in 1993 and selected earlier coverage, and United Nations resolutions, which includes the official records version of resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and Trusteeship Council since 1946.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Reference
It is the largest and most prestigious English online dictionary in the world. Oxford English Dictionary explores the meaning and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years with speed and ease.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Reference
Current
Full text
Oxford Islamic Studies Online is a comprehensive, authoritative database from Oxford University Press. It cross-searches the full text of Oxford’s books and encyclopedias in Islamic Studies, including the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (6 volumes, 2009), the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, and The Islamic World: Past and Present, and more.
Oxford Journals Online
Multidisciplinary
1996-present
Monthly
Citation + Abstract + Full text
Oxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. It publishes over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations. In addition to subscribing to the Core Collection package, LAU Libraries purchased the Social Sciences which includes more than 31 titles (1901-1995). For more information about the Social Sciences Archives click here.
Oxford Reference Online
Reference
Current
Full text
A giant online database which includes a variety of library acclaimed dictionaries and reference works across the subject spectrum.
Palgrave Macmillan Journals

Multidisciplinary, Business, Social Sciences, Humanities
2007-present
Monthly
Full text
Palgrave Macmillan is a global academic and business publisher, serving learning and scholarship in the academic and professional worlds. It focuses on Business, Social Sciences and Humanities. LAU Libraries subscribe to around 60 titles in the following disciplines: Business & Management; Economics; Finance; Information Systems & Technology; Marketing; Office for National Statistics; Political Science & International Studies; and Social & Cultural Studies.
Project MUSE
Multidisciplinary
1993-present
Monthly
Full text
Project MUSE provides online access to the full text of over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. MUSE journals cover many different subject areas including literature, history, political science, economics, education, film, philosophy, religion, women’s studies, and many more.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary, Business
1971-present
Monthly
Full text + abstract + citation
One of the world’s most comprehensive collections of digital information. Covering over 5,500 journals and comprising sixteen smaller databases, including ABI/INFORM® Global, Pharmaceutical News Index, ProQuest Accounting & Tax Database™, ProQuest Asian Business™, ProQuest Banking Information Source™, ProQuest Career & Technical Education™, ProQuest Computing™, ProQuest Education Complete™, ProQuest European Business™, ProQuest Newsstand™, ProQuest Religion™, ProQuest Telecommunications ™, and Academic Research Library™.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text (PQDTFT)
Bibliography, Thesis
1861-present
Monthly
Full text + abstract
PQDT Full Text provides instant access to over 1.2 million PDF doctoral and masters dissertations on the ProQuest platform all cross-searchable with your other ProQuest journal and newspaper subscriptions. A database used by over 70% of the world’s leading research universities in the world. With scholarly research content in every discipline, PQDT Full Text supports all departments and disciplines, safe in the knowledge we will be adding new PDFs on an ongoing basis.
• All top ranking USA research universities, as defined by the Carnegie Foundation, work with UMI
• Includes works by authors from more than 1,700 graduate schools and universities the world over
• 700 active university partners publish on UMI
• 40% of PhDs from the worlds top universities are published in PQDTPsycArticles
Psychology
1985-present
Monthly
Full text
PsycArticles, published by the American Psychological Association, is recognized worldwide as a leading full-text source for academic, research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines.
PubMed

Medicine, Pharmacy
1950-present
Daily
Citation + Abstract + Full text link
PubMed is service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE (PubMed primary component) and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. MEDLINE is part of the Entrez series of databases provided by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), and may also be searched via the NLM Gateway. Approximately 5,200 journals (published in the United States and more than 80 other countries), are selected and indexed for MEDLINE.
RCLWeb

Bibliography
Current
continually updated
full bibliographic record
Resources for College Libraries (RCL), is a list of core print and electronic resources for academic libraries, featuring over 75,000 titles in 117 subjects. Brought to you by ACRL’s Choice and Bowker, RCL covers the entire two-year and four-year college curriculum and provides a list of core titles that are essential for undergraduate study. Developed by an editorial team of more than 400 subject editors, bibliographers, and referees the RCL database content is continuously updated and now features improved functionality and a new improved user-friendly interface.
RefWorks
Research tool
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing your papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Regional Business News (U.S. only)
Business
Current
Full text
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain’s New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
RePEc

Economics
Current
Full text
Research Papers in Economics (RePEc) is a collaborative effort of over 100 volunteers in 45 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. It consists of over 200,000 free items.
RGE Monitor
Business, Finance
Current
Daily
Full text
Roubini Global Economics (RGE Monitor) is an independent macroeconomic and financial research/analysis firm founded by economist Nouriel Roubini in 2004. It identifies and covers key issues & debates giving users a full spectral view on the most pressing topics. On a daily basis, Roubini’s team of economists identifies issues affecting the global economy, financial markets, geo-strategic world, as well as the geo-political realm and provides the most comprehensive and intelligent information on these topics.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals Online

Chemistry, Biology
2008-present
Monthly
Abstract + citation + full text
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals Online is a Core database for chemistry that includes a collection of peer reviewed journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry. LAU Libraries subscribe to the Core Chemistry Package which includes the following titles:
ChemComm, Chemical Science, Dalton Transactions, Journal of Materials Chemistry, New Journal of Chemistry, Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry, Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics.
Education in Chemistry, and Energy & Environmental Science, are also available for LAU users.
It also links to ChemSpider a chemical search engine that offers free access to chemical structures and other online services.Safari Books Online

Business, Technology, Media
Current
Varies by title
Full text
Safari Books Online is an on-demand digital library providing over 17,188 technology, digital media, and business books and videos online to academic and library users. LAU Libraries subscribe to a Custom Safari Books Online Library that contains a subset of 14,416 titles from Safari Books Online’s overall content.
SAGE Journals Online
Multidisciplinary
1999-present
Monthly
Full text
Sage Publications is a leading international publisher of journals, books and electronic media for scholarly, educational and professional markets. The SAGE Journals Online provides articles text of journals published by SAGE and participating societies in the following subject areas: life science, medicine, physical science and social science.
Science Online
Sciences
1996-present
Weekly
Full text
Science is the world’s leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. In Science Collections you can browse by subject to find Science articles published in your field since 1996; view special content collections like Netwatch and Books et al.; browse the archive of articles from the Science of Aging Knowledge Environment; and find additional Web-only content and supplements to Science.s special issues. Links are also included to subject-targeted material from ScienceNow, the KEs, and ScienceCareers.org.
ScienceDirect (by Elsevier)
Medicine, Sciences
1993-present
Full text + abstract
The only comprehensive web information source for world’s scientific, technical and medical research. ScienceDirect offers access to over 1,500 journals (full text), most from 1996 forward and some from 1993 forward. Users may navigate across 40 million records with links to 10,000 journal titles covering all fields of science. LAU Libraries have subscription to the following collections:
* Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology
* Health Sciences
* Immunology and Microbiology
* Pharmacology, Toxicology and PharmaceuticalSciFinder Scholar
Chemistry
1900-present
Daily and varies by types of data
Citation
SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!
To register please click here:SCOPUS
Multidisciplinary, Medicine
1823- present
Daily
Citation + abstract
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It offers access to 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, over 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 315 book series, 36 million abstracts of which: 18 million records include references going back to 1996 (75% include references), 18 million pre-1996 records go back as far as 1823, and more. It also offers information on who cited who, when and where.
Shamaa database

Education
2007-present
Abstract + citation
Shamaa is an open access bibliographic database on Education in the Arab countries. . It indexes books, articles, thesis and dissertations in Arabic, French and English.
SpringerLink
Multidisciplinary
1997-present
Daily
Citation + Abstract + Full text
SpringerLink is one of the world’s leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. LAU has access to the full text of more than 1,300 Springer and Kluwer journals, and about 13,000 e-books covering the years 2005-2008 via SpringerLink. Subjects covered are: Architecture, Design and Arts, Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics and Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy.
Taylor & Francis Online
Multidisciplinary
Current
Varies by journal
Full text + abstract + citation
Taylor & Francis Online is the new online platform for Taylor & Francis Group content. LAU Libraries provide access to more than 100 journals through this platform. Titles included: ?Applied Financial Economics, Building Research and information, Construction Management & Economics, Gender & Education, International Journal of Geographical Information Science, Middle Eastern Studies, Teaching in Higher Education, and more.
Testing & Education Reference Center
Education
Current
Full text
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.
Theses Canada Portal

Bibliography, Thesis
1998-2002
Full text
This portals allows to access for free the full-text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002.
TLS: Times Literary Supplement
Language and Literature
1994-present
Full text
Access to the Archive of TLS will provide you new items, book reviews, etc. It contains the TLS in full from October 1994 and is fully searchable. To access the fulltext materials, click on “TLS Archive.”
User name: 2393
Password: 20020719Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory
Bibliography, Thesis
Current
Full bibliographic record
It is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. This directory is considered the premier serials source with nearly 250,000 serials, periodicals, annuals, and newspapers worldwide. Reviews, e-mail addresses, and URLs are available as well.
UNIDO Exchange

Business
It is the electronic business and knowledge network of the United Nations Industrial Development Organization that seeks to foster worldwide cooperation and partnership towards increasing development growth. Note that your membership entitles you to participate actively to the network and to publish your own business, technology and knowledge opportunities.
UpToDate
Medicine
Current
Every 4 months
Full text
UpToDate is an electronic resource offering evidence-based, synthesized medical information. It is comprised of original topics written, reviewed, and continually updated by a faculty of physician experts. UpToDate covers more than 7,400 topics in 13 medical specialties and includes more than 76,000 pages of text, graphics, designed to anticipate and answer clinical questions, as well as links to Medline abstracts, more than 254,000 references, and a drug database. An updated version of UpToDate is released every four months. AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS ONLY.
Wall Street Journal
Newspaper
1986-present
Daily
Full text
Available under ProQuest Central
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary
1989-present
Weekly
Bibliographic citations
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database indexing conference proceeding and articles gathered from thousands of high impact scholarly journals. It provides access to the world’s leading citation databases. Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with backfiles to 1989. Web of Science is available via ISI Web of Knowledge, the comprehensive research platform of choice for over 20 million users in 90 countries worldwide.
The Libraries subscribe to the following packages:
• Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)
• Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)Who Is She in Lebanon?

Women,Biography
Current
Full text
The Who Is She in Lebanon is an online database with profiles of prominent contemporary Lebanese women. This project started in 2008 following a bilateral partnership between the Institute for Women?s Studies in the Arab World (IWSAW) at the Lebanese American University (LAU) and KVINFO, the Danish Centre for Information on Women and Gender http://www.kvinfo.dk/side/661/ , a grant-maintained self-governing institution under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Culture in Denmark. This database provides access to biographical information on a large number of contemporary women in one of the following categories: opinion leaders, senior managers, politicians, professionals, artists, researchers, and experts within a wide range of subjects.
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary, Medicine
Current
Daily
Full text
Wiley-Blackwell is a multidisciplinary database that holds the content for most of Wiley-Blackwell’s journals, the majority of which are published on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies, i.e., Business and Society Review, Child Development, The Muslim World, International Affairs, and Journal of Sociolinguistics.
World Development Indicators Online
International Finance,Statistics
1960-present
Monthly
Full text
World Development Indicators Online (WDI) is a comprehensive database on development data published by the World Bank’s. It provides direct access to more than 800 development indicators, with time series for 209 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2008, where data are available (see WDI data availability query).
World Who’sWho
Reference
Current
Regularly
Full text
The World Who’s Who brings together current and hard-to-find biographical information on almost 60,000 prominent individuals, in all fields, throughout the world. Heads of state, key ministers, politicians, diplomats and religious leaders, the famous and successful in business, finance, technology, film, music, literature, fashion, sport and a host of other professions have been carefully selected by the Europa Biographical Reference team of editors.
