The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
Multidisciplinary
1865-present
Daily
Abstract + citation + full textAcademic Search Ultimate offers access to a collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. It is a combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in several disciplines ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Multidisciplinary On going process Full-text + link to full-textBASE is a multi-disciplinary search engine for academically relevant OAI-Sources worldwide, which was created and developed by Bielefeld University Library. BASE makes it possible to search for more than 50,000,000 documents across 2,700 repository servers worldwide and is one of the biggest search engine for academic OA documents and publications.
Multidisciplinary 1997-present Monthly Citation + Abstract + Full textCambridge Journals Online (CJO) is the e-publishing service for over 250 journals published by Cambridge University Press (CUP). In addition to subscribing to the Core Collection package, LAU Libraries purchased the Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) Archives which includes more than 60 titles (from issue 1). For more information about the STM Archives click here . Users are encouraged to register for an account in order to take advantage of all CUP services, such as: Content alerts (to keep up-to-date with the latest research in your field); Access free online sample material for almost all Cambridge journals, and more.
Multidisciplinary Current Weekly Full textThis database includes articles/theses available in any of the Canadian Association of Research Libraries institutional repositories.
MultidisciplinaryCUFTS is an open source journal finder also called link resolver. It includes a knowledge base of over 280 electronic resources with 289,000 journal title records.
MultidisciplinaryDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
MultidisciplinaryThis service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 1,135 journals in the directory. Currently 296 journals are searchable at article level. To date 50,478 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
Multidisciplinary, 1475-1900 Full-textEarly Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
Multidisciplinary Full text This package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Multidisciplinary Varies by title Full textEBook Central provides access to a wide-variety of disciplines from a wide variety of publishers.
Multidisciplinary Varies by purchases Daily Full-TextThe eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) database is a database that contains all of the full text eBooks that our institution purchases from EBSCO, including eBooks from our eBook Subscription Collections, as well as single eBook titles.
Journal Evaluation, Multidisciplinary 1997-present Annual Full recordThe Journal Citation Reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations. The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. JCR Web shows the relationship between citing and cited journals in a clear, easy-to-use framework.
Multidisciplinary, Economics, Education, Political Science 1800- Monthly Full textOriginally published by the “Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to help the scholarly community take advantage of advances in information technologies.” The JSTOR database is unique because it provides online access to the complete backfiles of 594 core scholarly journals (in digitized format) of several academic disciplines, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Over 4 million pages are now available and new titles are added constantly. However, JSTOR does not include current journal issues. There is a gap of about 2 to 5 years between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. This is JSTOR’s agreement with publishers referred to as a “moving wall”.
Multidisciplinary Current Citation + Abstract + Full text linkMetaPress provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles from hundreds of journals, newsletters and other professional and academic publications.
Multidisciplinary Weekly Full text + abstract + citationOAIster is a project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service providing free access to academically-oriented digital resources such as electronic books, theses, onlin e journals, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mpeg, quicktime), reference texts (e.g., dictionaries). It includes about 5,381,107 records from 475 institutions.
Multidisciplinary 1996-present Monthly Citation + Abstract + Full textOxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. It publishes over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations. In addition to subscribing to the Core Collection package, LAU Libraries purchased the Social Sciences which includes more than 31 titles (1901-1995). For more information about the Social Sciences Archives click here.
Multidisciplinary, Business, Social Sciences, Humanities 2007-present Weekly Full text Palgrave Macmillan is a global academic and business publisher, serving learning and scholarship in the academic and professional worlds. It focuses on Business, Social Sciences and Humanities. LAU Libraries subscribe to around 60 titles in the following disciplines: Business & Management; Economics; Finance; Information Systems & Technology; Marketing; Office for National Statistics; Political Science & International Studies; and Social & Cultural Studies
Palgrave titles are available through SpringerLink platform
Multidisciplinary 1993-present Monthly Full textProject MUSE provides online access to the full text of over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. MUSE journals cover many different subject areas including literature, history, political science, economics, education, film, philosophy, religion, women’s studies, and many more.
Multidisciplinary, Business 1971-present Monthly Full text + abstract + citationOne of the world’s most comprehensive collections of digital information. Covering over 5,500 journals and comprising thirty smaller databases, including ABI/INFORM® Global, Pharmaceutical News Index, ProQuest Accounting & Tax Database™, ProQuest Asian Business™, ProQuest Banking Information Source™, ProQuest Career & Technical Education™, ProQuest Computing™, ProQuest Education Complete™, ProQuest European Business™, ProQuest Newsstand™, ProQuest Religion™, ProQuest Telecommunications ™, and Academic Research Library™.
Multidisciplinary Varies par product Monthly Full text + abstract + citation Multidisciplinary 1999-present Monthly Full textSage Publications is a leading international publisher of journals, books and electronic media for scholarly, educational and professional markets. The SAGE Journals Online provides articles text of journals published by SAGE and participating societies in the following subject areas: life science, medicine, physical science and social science.
Multidisciplinary, Medicine, Nursing 1823- present Daily Citation + Abstract + Full text linkScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It offers access to 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, over 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 315 book series, 36 million abstracts of which: 18 million records include references going back to 1996 (75% include references), 18 million pre-1996 records go back as far as 1823, and more. It also offers information on who cited who, when and where.
Multidisciplinary 1997-present Daily Citation + Abstract + Full textSpringerLink is one of the world’s leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. LAU has access to the full text of more than 1,300 Springer and Kluwer journals, and about 13,000 e-books covering the years 2005-2008 via SpringerLink. Subjects covered are: Architecture, Design and Arts, Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics and Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy.
Multidisciplinary Current Varies by journal Full text + abstract + citationTaylor & Francis Online is the new online platform for Taylor & Francis Group content. LAU Libraries provide access to more than 100 journals through this platform. Titles included: ?Applied Financial Economics, Building Research and information, Construction Management & Economics, Gender & Education, International Journal of Geographical Information Science, Middle Eastern Studies, Teaching in Higher Education, and more.
MultidisciplinaryThis current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles. TOPICsearch is a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,691 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Multidisciplinary varies by title Regularly Fulltext read only Multidisciplinary 1989-present Weekly Bibliographic citationsWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database indexing conference proceeding and articles gathered from thousands of high impact scholarly journals. It provides access to the world’s leading citation databases. Coverage includes current and retrospective journal and proceedings data in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with backfiles to 1989. Web of Science is available via ISI Web of Knowledge, the comprehensive research platform of choice for over 20 million users in 90 countries worldwide.
The Libraries subscribe to the following packages:
• Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)
• Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
In order to login to Web of Science off-campus you need to register while on campus. On the Web of Science home page, click the Register link in the upper right corner, then complete the registration form.
Multidisciplinary, Medicine, Nursing Current Daily Full textWiley-Blackwell is a multidisciplinary database that holds the content for most of Wiley-Blackwell’s journals, the majority of which are published on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies, i.e., Business and Society Review, Child Development, The Muslim World, International Affairs, and Journal of Sociolinguistics.