The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
Collection Development Tool, Health Sciences, Medicine
Full bibliographic recordDoody’s Review Service (formerly Doody’s Electronic Journal) is a collection development tool for the health sciences. Download Product Sheet (PDF)
Access via username and password. Please contact the Information & Education Services Librarian ext 2273 (Byblos) and the Reference Librarian ext 1260 (Beirut).
Health SciencesEvidenceUpdates provides a cumulative, searchable database of recent journal article citations, with links to their abstracts, and ratings of their relevance and importance by practicing physicians. To search this database, you must register.
Physicians who are in general practice or primary care, internal medicine or its sub-specialties are invited to register their interests so that they can receive email alerts and searching access for literature that is matched to their personal clinical interests.
Health Sciences Full text + abstract + citationHealth Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men’s Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People’s Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers; and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children’s health, women’s health, etc.
Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing, Health Sciences
Current
Monthy Full text The JAMA Network brings JAMA together with the nine JAMA specialty journals to offer enhanced access to the research, reviews, and perspectives shaping the future of medicine. Through a variety of innovative tools, The JAMA Network provides the insights that matter most to medical research and practice.
Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing Current Monthly Citation+abstract+full text+full text linkThe LWW Total Access Collection is an expansive collection of all LWW journals available on OvidSP and that cater to your intensive medical information needs. This collection brings you just about every one of LWW’s titles, from essential core journals to specialized resources in such areas as nursing and bioscience, to help round out your knowledge base. With the Total Access Collection you get virtually all of LWW’s electronic journal content. The LWW Total Access Collection caters to those institutions with more intensive medical information needs - institutions supporting many clinicians, researchers, students and teachers, all of whom require 24/7 access to a larger collection of journals.
Access Note: Access to this collection is via the portal, Journals@OVID
Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing Current Full textLexicomp Online is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with a comprehensive medical library. Lexicomp provides drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Lexicomp and UpToDate have partnered to provide new and enhanced patient education leaflets.
Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing, Psychology, Health Sciences 1946 - present Daily Citation + Abstract + Full text linkMEDLINE on OvidSP offers you seamless and up-to-the-minute access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.
N.B. Change the resource selected to OVID Medline
Nursing, Health Sciences Current Citation + Abstract + Full textProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source™ provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations in nursing and related fields.
Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing 1946-present Daily Citation + Abstract + Full text linkPubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Bio Medical, Health Sciences, Protocols, MethodsExperiments is a new research solution developed by Springer Nature to connect researchers with relevant and important protocols and methods to support their research projects. it helps them find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods across the life sciences.