The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
Multidisciplinary
Weekly
Full text + abstract + citationOAIster is a project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service providing free access to academically-oriented digital resources such as electronic books, theses, onlin e journals, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mpeg, quicktime), reference texts (e.g., dictionaries). It includes about 5,381,107 records from 475 institutions.
Documents
1946-present Full textThis database is the electronic repository for official documents published by the United Nations. The full text of documents is accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the United Nations (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish). Documents are stored in two databases: United Nations documentation, with comprehensive coverage beginning in 1993 and selected earlier coverage, and United Nations resolutions, which includes the official records version of resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and Trusteeship Council since 1946.
Banking, Economics, Statistical dataThe World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
You can browse for World Bank content by Collections, Authors, Release Dates, Topics, and Title. Advanced Search is available and searches metadata such as title, abstracts, keywords, etc.
The OKR contains thousands of research works including:
World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies; Books published by the World Bank Group including flagship publications, academic books and practitioner volumes; All World Development Reports (WDRs) plus recent WDR background papers; Journal articles published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO), two journals published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the World Bank; Accepted manuscripts of Bank-authored journal articles from selected external publishers (after an embargo period if applicable); Metadata and links to Bank-authored external journal articles; Serial publications (typically data-intensive outlook reports); Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP)—a series of papers that disseminate findings of work in progress in order to encourage the exchange of ideas about development issues; and many more.
Finance, Business Statistical dataORBIS provides detailed company information including financials on public and private companies worldwide. As well as descriptive information and company financials, ORBIS contains further detail such as news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership, and brief M&A data. It includes advanced search and analysis software so you can identify and evaluate companies around the world. Universities and business schools use Orbis around the world in their research, teaching and as a learning resource. Its 10 year history is a major benefit to academic researchers. Orbis is compatible with various academic access systems, protocols and subscription services.
Finance, Business, Statistical data Orbis covers 200 million companies around the world Varies by dataOrbis bank focus contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide. You can use it to research individual companies and find companies with specific profiles and analyse them.
Company financials in a standardised format - “as reported” data can be unfolded; Financial strength indicators; Country profiles and outlook from the EIU; Directors and contacts; Original filings/images; Stock data for listed companies; Detailed corporate structures; Market research; Business and company related news; M&A deals and rumours.
Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing, Psychology, Health Sciences 1946 - present Daily Citation + Abstract + Full text linkMEDLINE on OvidSP offers you seamless and up-to-the-minute access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.
N.B. Change the resource selected to OVID Medline
Multidisciplinary 1996-present Monthly Citation + Abstract + Full textOxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. It publishes over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations. In addition to subscribing to the Core Collection package, LAU Libraries purchased the Social Sciences which includes more than 31 titles (1901-1995). For more information about the Social Sciences Archives click here.
Reference Current Full textA giant online database which includes a variety of library acclaimed dictionaries and reference works across the subject spectrum.