The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
Multidisciplinary,
1475-1900
Full-textEarly Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
Multidisciplinary Full text This package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Multidisciplinary Varies by title Full textEBook Central provides access to a wide-variety of disciplines from a wide variety of publishers.
Multidisciplinary Varies by purchases
Daily Full-TextThe eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) database is a database that contains all of the full text eBooks that our institution purchases from EBSCO, including eBooks from our eBook Subscription Collections, as well as single eBook titles.
Economics, Finance 1969-present Daily Citation + abstract + full textEconLit™ with Full Text contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for more than 500 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo (American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives). EconLit, the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. It provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Social Sciences, Literature vol. 1 issue 1 varies by title Full-textEdinburgh University Press publishes over 35 journals across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. LAU Libraries subscribe to 4 titles mainly in Literature:
Education 1866-present Full text + abstract + citationEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.
Mathematics
Medicine, Pharmacy, Nursing 1974-present Abstract + citation + full textEmbase is a comprehensive biomedical database that focuses on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine. It provides access to bibliographic citations to more than 8,500 biomedical journal articles from over 95 countries.
Business, Management, Library and Information Science 1994-present Full textA powerful business and management research tool that provides instant access to over 40,000 full text articles from over one hundred Emerald titles going back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
Reference Current Full textA reference site for students, educators, and parents which includes the complete encyclopædia, with more than 72,000 articles, updated and revised by professional editors and contributors; over 10,000 illustrations, photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 75,000 definitions with pronunciation guides and word histories from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Plus, the Encyclopædia Britannica Intermediate which offers over 38,000 articles and 4,000 images, illustrations, maps and flags. This site can also be used to search an internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Agriculture, Nutrition, Food Science 2003-present Current Full textThis database is an expanded and updated version of the eight-volume Encyclopedia of Food Science, Food Technology and Nutrition (1993). Available via the Science Direct platform, the encyclopedia covers the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition.
Reference, Islam, Islamic Studies EI2 (1955-2005) and EI3 (2007-) Quarterly Full textEncyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) is a unique reference tool, and an authoritative source ?of information about the world of Islam. it consists of both the second edition (?EI2?) and the third edition (?EI3?). The Second Edition sets out the present state of Brill?s knowledge of the Islamic World. The Third Edition is an entirely new work in progress (publication started in 2007), it contains new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
EI Online includes over 10,000 entries from hundreds of scholars, with full color illustrations (sizeable), an easy referencing at end of each article. The search engine for EI Online automatically searches both editions and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.
Journalism, Reference Current Full textEncyclopedia of Journalism, published by Sage Publications, Inc., is composed of six-volumes that cover all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. Available through Sage Reference Online Platform.
Finance, Reference Current Full textThe Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance is a major reference work designed to provide a comprehensive coverage of essential topics related to the quantitative modeling of financial markets, with authoritative contributions from leading academics and professionals.
Energy 1948-present Monthly Full text + abstract + citationContains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.
Education 1966-present Monthly Citation + abstractERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
History 1493-1750 No updates Full bibliographic record European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 is a database based on the authoritative bibliography “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.” This new database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. The bibliographic database, contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
NutritionEvidence Analysis Library (EAL) is a synthesis of the best, most relevant nutritional research on important dietetic practice questions housed within an accessible, online, user-friendly website. An objective and transparent methodology is used to assess food and nutrition-related science. The EAL is a series of systematic reviews developed by Academy members for Academy members based on a predefined approach and criteria.
Health SciencesEvidenceUpdates provides a cumulative, searchable database of recent journal article citations, with links to their abstracts, and ratings of their relevance and importance by practicing physicians. To search this database, you must register.
Physicians who are in general practice or primary care, internal medicine or its sub-specialties are invited to register their interests so that they can receive email alerts and searching access for literature that is matched to their personal clinical interests.