The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
Business
1971-present
See ProQuest CentralMost scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Multidisciplinary 1865-present
Daily Abstract + citation + full textAcademic Search Ultimate offers access to a collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. It is a combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in several disciplines ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Medicine, Dermatology Abstract + citation + full textAccessDermatologyDxRx is a comprehensive resource for all physicians and other healthcare providers including medical students, dermatology residents, internists, oncologists, and infectious disease specialists. With thousands of images that include all of the essential information to help you with clinical decision-making, this resource covers the full scope of dermatologic conditions.
Medicine Current Daily Full textMcGraw-Hill’s AccessMedicine.com is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, and researchers with instant answers to clinical questions from trusted sources. To keep pace with the changing practice of medicine, AccessMedicine delivers the latest medical advances and knowledge from recognized physicians delivered in a digital aggregation with online desktop, PDA, iPod, and MP3 compatible device solutions. Updated daily by world-renowned physicians and expanded continuously, AccessMedicine is designed for direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
NOTE: You need to create an individual account via MyAccess, and you must sign in every 90 days through the libraries in order to keep your account active. This individual account is required to have access to AccessMedicine off-campus.
N.B. “USERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO CONFIRM THE INFORMATION CONTAINED ON ANY OF THE ACCESSMEDICINE SITES, WlTH OTHER SOURCES. FOR EXAMPLE, AND IN PARTICULAR, USERS ARE ADVISED TO CHECK THE PRODUCT INFORMATION SHEET INCLUDED IN THE PACKAGE OF EACH DRUG THEY PLAN TO ADMINISTER TO BE CERTAIN THAT THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN ANY OF THE ACCESSMEDICINE SITES IS ACCURATE AND THAT CHANGES HAVE NOT BEEN MADE IN THE RECOMMENDED DOSE OR IN THE CONTRAINDICATIONS FOR ADMINISTRATION”.
Pharmacy, Medicine, Nursing Current Daily Full textAccessPharmacyTM from McGraw-Hill is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, search across leading pharmacy online references and view optimized content on a mobile device.
Computer Science, Engineering Current Full textIt is the full-text repository of papers published by ACM and by other publishers that have co-publishing or co-marketing agreements with ACM. It contains citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
Biology, Chemistry, Medicine, Physics 1996- present Monthly Full text The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. LAU Libraries subscribe to 40 journals from ACS Publications (including 5 copublished with other scientific societies).
N.B. Chemical & Engineering News, Reagent Chemicals, Division Proceedings or C&EN Online are not yet part of our subscription.
Concrete technology Abstract + citationThe Online MCP contains all of the ACI documents you need to answer your questions about code requirements, specifications, tolerances, concrete proportions, construction methods, evaluations of test results, materials and properties construction practices, inspection, and pavements use of concrete buildings, bridges and special structures precast concrete, masonry, etc. The Online MCP includes over 4,600 pages and 180 of the most used documents on concrete technology.
Business, Economics Varies by title Monthy Full textThis database provides access to the American Economic Association online journals namely:
American Economic Review (AER) since March 1999
Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) since December 1994
Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP) since Fall 1987 (1, 2)
American Economic Journal: Applied Economics (AEJ: Applied) since January 2009
American Economic Journal: Economic Policy (AEJ: Policy) since February 2009
American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics (AEJ: Macro) since January 2009
American Economic Journal: Microeconomics (AEJ: Micro) since February 2009
Nursing 1900-present Monthly Full textThe American Journal of Nursing (AJN) is the oldest and largest circulating, broad-based nursing journal in the world. AJN is published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, part of Wolters Kluwer Health. It promotes excellence in nursing and health care through the dissemination of evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information and original research, discussion of relevant and controversial professional issues, adherence to standards of journalistic integrity and excellence, and promotion of nursing perspectives to the health care community and the public.
Medicine, Pharmacy varies by title Full text + abstractThe American Society of Microbiology (ASM) journals provide access to up-to-date and authoritative publications in the field of basic and clinical microbiology.
Engineering, Civil Engineering varies by title Monthly Full text Sciences 1996-present Annually Full textFounded in 1932, Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 32 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI).
With the Reviews in Advance, articles will begin to appear up to 7 months prior to the publication date of the print volume.
Art, Architecture 1929-Present Monthly Full text + abstract + citationArt & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Art, Humanities, Social Sciences Pre-history - present ImagesThe ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections ). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/subjectguides ).
N.B. "Before entering the ARTstor Digital Library, you will need to set your browser’s pop-up blocker to accept pop-up windows from www.artstor.org. If you choose not to do so, you will not be able to fully open the images".
Sciences Current Full textArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
Engineering, Mechanical Engineering 2000-present Monthly Full textThis database contains the full text of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. ASME International conducts one of the world’s largest technical publishing operations, holds some 30 technical conferences and 200 professional development courses each year, and sets many industrial and manufacturing standards.