The following electronic resources are available 24 hours, on the university’s intranet or by logging in from any off-campus connection.
It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she uses these products only for individual, noncommercial use without systematically downloading, copying or distributing of information (including for use in course packs), and removing or altering copyright notices. Acceptable use forbids downloading contents of entire issues of a given journal title. Tampering with any software or code used to display and/or run the resources is strictly prohibited. Misuse of these resources violates the terms of LAU’s license agreements and could result in termination of the resource to the entire campus community.
Reference
Current
Full textThis database serves as a unique guide to the ways in which names offer insight into the political, cultural, religious, and aesthetic meanings that people ascribe to particular environments, and in which the values of places change. The dynamism of the world system since World War II is graphically illustrated by changed names for both renewed and pre-existing places.
Reference Current Full textCredo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of over 250 reference books. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology, languages, technology, business, economics & finance, biography, literature and many more. Search each title individually or search across the entire collection. Credo also contains a helpful crossword solver, and useful conversion calculators. Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more.
Reference Current Full textA reference site for students, educators, and parents which includes the complete encyclopædia, with more than 72,000 articles, updated and revised by professional editors and contributors; over 10,000 illustrations, photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 75,000 definitions with pronunciation guides and word histories from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Plus, the Encyclopædia Britannica Intermediate which offers over 38,000 articles and 4,000 images, illustrations, maps and flags. This site can also be used to search an internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Reference, Islam, Islamic Studies EI2 (1955-2005) and EI3 (2007-)
Quarterly Full textEncyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) is a unique reference tool, and an authoritative source ?of information about the world of Islam. it consists of both the second edition (?EI2?) and the third edition (?EI3?). The Second Edition sets out the present state of Brill?s knowledge of the Islamic World. The Third Edition is an entirely new work in progress (publication started in 2007), it contains new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
EI Online includes over 10,000 entries from hundreds of scholars, with full color illustrations (sizeable), an easy referencing at end of each article. The search engine for EI Online automatically searches both editions and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.
Journalism, Reference Current Full textEncyclopedia of Journalism, published by Sage Publications, Inc., is composed of six-volumes that cover all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. Available through Sage Reference Online Platform.
Finance, Reference Current Full textThe Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance is a major reference work designed to provide a comprehensive coverage of essential topics related to the quantitative modeling of financial markets, with authoritative contributions from leading academics and professionals.
Reference, Literature, Art, Biography Varies by title New volumes added as they are published Full-TextGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a multidisciplinary collection of electronic encyclopedias and specialized reference works. The collection can be browsed by title or searched by author, title, keyword, image caption, publisher, and full-text.The eBooks to which LAU Libraries subscribe are displayed by subject on the GVRL home page.
Currently the Libraries provide access to the following titles:
Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary, edition 46th 2012 onwards
Contemporary authors. - vol 310 onwards
Contemporary authors, New Revision Series. vol 220 onwards
Contemporary musicians. - vol 71 onwards
Contemporary theatre, film and television. - vol 112 onwards
Countries of the world and their leaders yearbook 2013 ed onwards
Environmental encyclopedia. - 5th ed onwards
The weather almanac. -12th ed onwards
Previous volumes also available during subscription period.
Access to this database requires:
Username: lau
Password: lau
Reference, Islam 10th to 20th centuries CE Manuscripts+Maps+TextsHarvard’s Islamic Heritage Project (IHP) is a digital collection that includes over 280 manuscripts, more than 50 maps, and more than 275 printed texts from Harvard?s renowned library and museum collections. Totaling over 156,000 pages, IHP materials date from the 10th to the 20th centuries CE, and represent many regions, including Saudi Arabia, North Africa, Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Palestine, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, and South, Southeast, and Central Asia. Languages covered are primarily Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish; also Urdu, Chagatai, Malay, Gujarati, Indic languages, and several Western languages. Subjects include religious texts and commentaries; Sufism; history, geography, law, and the sciences (astronomy, astrology, mathematics, medicine); poetry and literature; rhetoric, logic, and philosophy; calligraphy, dictionaries and grammar, as well as biographies and autobiographical works. Additional materials may be added to the IHP over time.
Business, Legal, Finance, News, Reference 1979-present Daily Citation+Abstract+Fulltext Reference,Nursing,Allied Health Current Daily Full textNursing Reference Center Plus™ is an evidence-based point-of-care resource to quickly answers nurses’ clinical questions. It includes multimedia (e.g. videos and images), nursing management topics, care plans, leadership and management continuing education modules, additional skills, and more!
It also contains cultural competencies, patient education, drug information, and reference books, guidelines, legal cases, and research instruments.
Reference Current Full textA giant online database which includes a variety of library acclaimed dictionaries and reference works across the subject spectrum.